Wednesday, April 21, 2010

LAUSD ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS AMONG ‘BEST OF THE BEST’: 27 LAUSD Schools Recognized as 2010 California Distinguished Schools

Written by Information Provided to San Fernando Valley Sun

Wednesday, 21 April 2010 -- Twenty-seven elementary schools in the Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) have been honored as 2010 California Distinguished Schools by the California Department of Education. This award recognizes exemplary instructional programs and academic excellence.

The schools, which include some charters, are: Amanecer Primary Center; Antonio Maria Lugo Academy; Arroyo Seco Museum Science Magnet; Camino Nuevo Charter Academy; Celerity Troika Charter; Colfax Avenue Elementary; Crescendo Charter Preparatory West; Franklin Avenue Elementary; Harvard Elementary; Hollywood Primary Center; Kentwood Elementary; Lomita Math/Science Magnet; Madison Elementary; Maywood Elementary; Milagro Charter; Park Western Place Elementary; Plummer Elementary; Reseda Elementary; Robert Hill Lane; Roscomare Road Elementary; Serrania Elementary; Seventh Street Elementary; West Hollywood Elementary; Wonderland Avenue Elementary; Fifty-fourth Street Elementary and 122nd Street Elementary.

"The outstanding success of these schools indicates once again that all students can excel in the Los Angeles Unified School District--whether they come from disadvantaged or affluent homes; whether they speak English or another language when they start school and despite unforgiving state budget cuts," said LAUSD Superintendent Ramon C. Cortines. "I want other schools to learn from the strategies, approaches and routes to the stellar results at these exemplary schools."

To facilitate that exchange including from one district to another, the California Department of Education will make available an updated searchable database of the signature practices submitted by the 484 award-winning schools.

The California School Recognition Program, now in its 24th year, honors the state's most exemplary and inspiring public schools.

Elementary and secondary schools are recognized in alternate years.

Eligibility for the 2010 designation was based on scores on the Academic Performance Index, as well as Adequate Yearly Progress, which charts improvement by subgroups such as family income; ethnicity and language of origin. Students in every group must demonstrate substantial growth. Winning schools also must narrow the gap between high-and-low achievers.

"This award is a reflection of great teachers, strong leadership, vigorous parental involvement, and the hard work of our students," Cortines said. "Let me be the first to say how proud I am, and thank you for all your hard work."

An awards ceremony will be held for the 2010 California Distinguished Schools on June 4, 2010 in Anaheim.

No comments: