Friday, December 07, 2012


By Barbara Jones, Staff Writer, LA Daily News |

12/06/2012   ::  Fifteen candidates, including two incumbents, met Wednesday's filing deadline to run for three seats on the Los Angeles Unified board in the March 5 primary.

District 2 incumbent Monica Garcia has already qualified to appear on the ballot, along with challengers Robert Skeels and Isabel Vasquez for the East Los Angeles district.

Three other District 2 candidates - Abelardo Diaz, Scott Folsom and Annamarie Montañez - submitted their nominating petitions just before Wednesday's 5 p.m. deadline.

ONLINE: To view a list of all candidates for City, School Distinct and Community College office , click here.

The City Clerk's Office has until Dec. 15 to verify whether each candidate has the signatures of at least 500 registered voters from his or her district.

District 4 incumbent Steve Zimmer and challenger Kate Anderson also will appear on the ballot, while signatures are still being counted for candidates Jeneen Robinson and Samuel Paul Whitehead. The district stretches from the South San Fernando Valley to Hollywood and the Westside.

District 6 is the only open seat in the 2013 school board election, with board member Nury Martinez running for Los Angeles City Council instead.

Maria Cano, Ernie Cardenas, Monica Ratliff and Antonio Sanchez all qualified to run for the seat serving the east San Fernando Valley district. A fifth candidate, Iris Zu iga, filed her petition late Wednesday.

On Wednesday night, the House of Representatives from United Teachers Los Angeles voted on its endorsements.

The union leaders recommended Diaz, Folsom, Montañez and Skeels in District 2; Zimmer in District 4; and Cano, Cardenas, Ratliff and Sanchez in District 6.

School board members are elected by voters in their districts. If none of the candidates receives more than 50 percent of the vote in the primary, the top two vote-getters will face a runoff in the May 21 general election.

LAUSD 2013: Where the Districts Are

Posted on December 7, 2012 by LA School Report

It’s not easy keeping track of terms used in LAUSD, including such basics as the geographic “districts” (regions) into which the sprawling district has been divided.

Let’s start with the three districts that are up for grabs in March:

District 2 (Light blue) -Central Los Angeles from Larchmont to East LA (includes Koreatown, Downtown, Boyle Heights, El Sereno)  Currently held by Monica Garcia.

District 4 (Green, left) – Westside from Hollywood to the Pacific Palisades (includes Encino, Mar Vista, Westchester, Westwood)  Currently held by Steve Zimmer.

District 6 (Blue, top)-East San Fernando Valley from Sylmar to Van Nuys (includes Pacoima, North Hollywood, Sun Valley) Currently held by Nury Martinez.

For more details, see this handy-dandy map from LAUSD, or look at maps of each district here.

No comments: